Oh Messenger of Allah, I come to you seeking refuge: Maulana Ashraf ‘Ali Thanvi

An Intimate Calling (Taken from Seekersdigest.org)
from the Wird Book of Imam Ashraf Ali al-Tahanawi

O Messenger of Allah, I come to you seeking refuge
May my Lord’s blessings be upon you and all peace

I come distressed, seeking assistance and succor
For a soul that wrongs despite not having been wronged

O Messenger of Allah, I come to you seeking your protection
And your Lord grants you protection and you can’t be let down

O Messenger of Allah, I come to you as a guest
And the rights of guests are known to those noble

I come to you indigent and needy
With a soul possessing only tremendous sins

A stranger who has come from a strange land
Without any companions or partners

…..

Help me, O Messenger of Allah, for I
Am at a loss, and despair has reached my very bones

Grant mercy, O Son of Aminah, grant mercy
For in sin have I been nursed and grown

It is your intercession I seek in distress and ease
And your healing when sickness befalls me

You are my support when darkness befalls
And in struggles you are my sure sword

If you seek forgiveness for me, O Master, even once
I’ll be of those upright on religion

Every limb of mine obeys you as if a slave
And in my heart love for you is constant

O God grant me success throughout my life
To pray weeping while others are asleep.

[Source: Munajat-e-Maqbool, 234-238, Idara-e-Islamiyat, Lahore, 1995]

9 Comments

Filed under General, Poetry

9 responses to “Oh Messenger of Allah, I come to you seeking refuge: Maulana Ashraf ‘Ali Thanvi

  1. basair

    It is poetry.

    Our Deobandi Mashaykh consider it permissible to say such things in poetry.

    For those with doubts about this Deobandi ‘deviation’ from the ‘mainstream sunnipath’ need to read the remarkable fatwa of Shaykh Imam Zafar Ahmad Uthmani ra “Al-irshad fi masa’la al istemdaad”, in Maqalaat e Usmani, volume 2, pages 275 till 328, published by Baitul Ilm, Lahore (1425H).

    This 53 page document from a sheikhul Islam, faqeeh and muhaddith deals in detail regarding this issue.

  2. Salamu ‘Alaykum

    Barakallah feekum Sayyidi for the comment.

    Maulana Ashraf ‘Ali Thanvi considered such nida’ ja’iz as stated in his Imdad Al Fatawa, aswell as his wa’az Haqiqat Al Ibadat which was in reply to a khat one of his students from abroad sent him after coming into contact with a Baghdadi ‘Alim. Thus, this is not Deobandi ‘deviation’ but the Asl ruling.

    Plus Maulana Thanvis Munajat is a book of du’as, not just “poems”. I am aware of our ‘Ulemas stance on such topics as well as their reasons for possible prohibitions. Whether such prohibitions still apply in our times, and in our specific localities and circumstances is something debatable.
    The ‘Ulema of Deoband permitted istighata, but made an exception for the awaam who could possibly construe it the wrong way. This was made clear by many of our past Akabirin. Also, as i stated previously, many ‘Ulema such as Imam Zahid Al Kawthari – who were referred to as Shaykh al Islam’s – permitted seeking aid (istighata) and it is highly unlikely that our top scholars such as Allamah Yusuf Binuri or Mufti Shafi’ would look upto him as a teacher and an authority if what he possessed were “shirk” beliefs. We seek refuge with Allah from such thoughts!

    You may also look up the Istighata of Allamah ibn ‘Abidin (Imam Shami as we know him) – whose Rad al Muhtar is possibly the best in the Hanafi Madhab – where he states “Qad Daaqat Heelati, idrikni Ya Rasul Allah!” (My affairs have become constrained, so assist me, Oh Messenger of Allah!).


    Wasalam

  3. Brother in Islam

    I was wondering why Shaykh , Rashid Ahmad Ghangoi (Allah show him mercy) said regarding Durood -e- Taj “Whatever excellence is attributed to Durood-e-Taj by the ignorant (jahil) is absolutely wrong………….” Fatawa-e-Rashidia
    Lahore ed. page 162, Delhi ed. Volume 3, Page 98-9,

  4. a.s.

    This poem is beautiful as a poem. But seriously, I must ask,

    “You are my support when darkness befalls
    And in struggles you are my sure sword

    Every limb of mine obeys you as if a slave
    And in my heart love for you is constant”

    Are you HONESTLY telling me, that this sounds like something the Prophet would like to hear? Upon hearing everything he taught and the Tawhid he brought, you REALLY TRULY believe that the line isn’t more appropriate if it was said to Allah (swt)?

    How is this any different from the Christians when they say this to their Prophet Isa (alayhis salaam)?

    Allah knows best.

  5. to “A.S” first of all, don’t take things out of context.

    “You are my support when darkness befalls”
    I look to the sunnah to find actions to do when in trouble times. That’s basically what I personally feel that statement means.
    “And in struggles you are my sure sword”
    Same thing as I said above.
    “Every limb of mine obeys you as if a slave”
    What’s wrong with this? He wants to follow the sunnah like a slave.
    Nothing Christian like in comparison to Prophet Isa (as).
    “And in my heart love for you is constant”
    Shouldn’t we have love for Allah’s most beloved??

    This is to Allah. It is Allah who sent Muhammad (saas) to guide us. It is Allah (swt) who sent Muhammad (saas) to establish his sunnah.

    Ma’asalama

  6. someone

    i dont know…regarding the poem..i would call on *Allah* with those words…
    i seek refuge in Allah
    i beg for Allah’s assistance
    i ask for Allah’s protection
    i beg For Allah’s help and mercy
    when in need and in distress, i turn to Allah

    i’d be more comfortable if the words read
    “O Allah,I come to You seeking Your protection…”etc

  7. Hamza Isa

    There is no problem with the poem. One needs to really think about what is being said before one makes a comment. It is an absolutely beautiful expression of love and devotion.

Leave a Reply

