Love of the Messenger (Allah bless him and grant him peace)

From: Ashrafiyah

تعصی الرسول وانت تظھرحبھ

 

ھذا العمری فی الفعال بدیع

 

لو کان حبک صادقا لاطعتھ

 

ان المحب لمن یحب مطیع

(ابن مبارک رح)

You disobey the Messenger صلی اللہ علیہ وسلم and claim to love him,

I swear by my life, this thing is impossible,

If you were true in your claim, you would have obeyed him,

For indeed, a lover obeys the one he loves.

 

مواعظ اشرفیہ: شکر النعمۃ بذکرالرحمۃ/الابقاء 1981 ص141

Also see:

Qadhi ‘Iyad: The Necessity of Loving the Prophet

How much should the Prophet be loved?

How can I increase my love for the Prophet? Shaykh Amjad Rashid

Shaykh Gibril Haddad mentioned a beautiful hadith:

“A man came to the Prophet and said: ‘Messenger of Allah, I love you more than my family and my possessions. I remember you and I cannot wait until I can come and look at you. I remember that I will die and you will die and I know that when you enter the Garden, you will be raised up high with the Prophets. When I enter it, I will not see you.’ Allah then revealed: ‘Whoever obeys Allah and the Messenger, they are with those whom He has favored: the Prophets, the True Saints, the Martyrs, and the Righteous. Ah! What an excellent company.’ (4:69) The Prophet called the man and recited the verse to him.”

Tabarani and Ibn Mardawayh narrated it from `A’isha and Ibn `Abbas, and Qadhi `Iyad cited it in al Shifa’ as well as Ibn Kathir in his Tafsir (1:310) and al Baghawi in his.

May Allah make us among the company of the Prophet’s and Martyrs and ‘Awliya – Amin.

Blessings on the Prophet, his family, and his companions.

1 Comment

Filed under Hadith, Tasawwuf

One response to “Love of the Messenger (Allah bless him and grant him peace)

  1. touhid

    salaamu ‘alykum,

    sidi would you know the exact hadith (preferably in arabic or a reference) where a bedouin asks the Prophet sallallahu alyhi wasallam about the Last Hour. and then he sallallahu alyhi wasallam responds by saying “what have you prepared for it?”. the bedouin then responds by saying “Nothing. execpt for two things. Love for the Prophet and Love for Allah”. the prophet sallallahu alyhi wasallam then said: “he will raised with the one he Loves..”

Leave a Reply

